Unsure of What to do

I’ve recently gotten close to a guy who I work with. He asked me out but as I’ve never had a proper relationship before, I really want to think it through first.

He’s a fun, loyal, generous guy and we joke around a lot, and he makes everything so much more fun, like his messages make me smile in a really stupid kind of way and he even once jumped out of a window just to say hi to me.

But on the other hand, he’s not someone I would ever have envisioned dating- we come from very different cultures, and he doesn’t challenge me academically.

To make matters worse, he is someone my strict immigrant parents would highly disapprove of, as he’s someone who smokes weed and vapes, is a high school dropout, and has tattoos (which I personally love).

In the event of a breakup, I would lose a really good friend and it would make work very, very awkward. I really want to go out with him, but at the same time, I can’t imagine a future with him at the moment. What should I do?

Emotionally Lost Gal

✨🎠Kai’s comment🎠✨

If you stress about the future you’re never going to take risks for opportunities that may actually end up benefiting you whether just in terms of happiness or also growth as well.

When I’ve accepted dates in the past, I wasn’t thinking about the future. I was thinking about the now and whether it would make me happy.

Don’t worry so much about the future and whether your parents will approve, you’re young and haven’t even dated previously, don’t take it too seriously, just take it as a chance to try something new, enjoy yourself

and if something comes of it thats awesome! If it doesn’t that’s also fine. And another thing, a break-up or dates that don’t work out don’t have to make your relationship awkward or uncomfortable.

There is a false idea that the only way a break-up happens is because something bad has happened and you thus have to be angry, or your partner has to be angry but there are ways to do it amicably and for the best interests of both parties.

So don’t worry so much and just enjoy yourself!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started